Family bonding, Family traditions

Yesterday March 4, it was my brother Josue’s birthday and we went over to his place to celebrate it.  I noticed that we did the same thing for my mom’s birthday which was last month and I began to realize it was like a tradition. Every year when it’s one of our sibling’s birthday and it lands during the week, we all go over to their house with food, usually pizza, and cake which is usually bought from wholefoods  market by my sister. We all show up 20 minutes late and we stay there for about three hours and within those three hours we all are laughing, arguing, and being very loud for no reason but that’s just the way we are. My sister and I usually watch them and laugh at how crazy they are because its really entertaining.  I also realized that for the past five years we have developed a new tradition as well on Christmas eve. On the day before Christmas eve my sister and I usually around 8:00pm begin to prepare the tamales. We spread the masa ,dough in Spanish, on the rajas, some corn leaf thing, and we put the shredded chicken with the green salsa that my sister makes inside ,then we wrap it up. After that we make some that have pieces of chili and some ranchero cheese because my sister is a vegetarian.

These are some of the cakes from wholefoods.

These are the chicken ones we make.

We place them in the pig pot and put it in the refrigerator so that the next day we can cook them. On Christmas eve we get up at 8:00am and cook the tamales because they take a really long time to cook so that’s why we get up so early. While the tamales are cooking my sister and I then make some sort of dessert which is usually cupcakes with a filling that we make out of cool whip and raspberries.  After that the rest of our family gets here and brings food that they made like rice or beans or they bring chips and dip. It’s these little “traditions” I guess you would call them that bring our family together and help us bond.  I love the fact that I am close to my siblings because they are always there for me and support me in everything just like I support them. The way that we support each other reminds me of the book that my teacher read to us yesterday called Flora and the Flamingo. The book shows how when you have people there to support you and have your back even when you fall, it won’t be as bad as you falling and being on your own. When you are trying to achieve something in life it is always best to have a person or more there to help you and believe in you because it really help you achieve your goal.  In the book, Flora gets support from the flamingo and I feel as if I am Flora and the flamingo is my family. I am really thankful for having my family support me in everything because they are the people that mean he most to me. I hope these little traditions never end because it is what helps keep our family bonded and helps us always be there for each other.

Leave a comment